Assessment submission, Textiles 2 Creative Practice

At last I have completed my submission for the assessment of this course. Due to the Covid-19 outbreak the OCA have made it a digital only submission this time, something that none of us have any experience of at all! Once the blind panic had subsided (Just how do you show your textile work successfully when it is only being experienced virtually???) I realised that it was a chance to showcase my work as I wanted it to be viewed, it would actually give me more control and might even be easier to connect the different pieces of work in a clearer way. Rather than labelling each sample in the hope that the assessor would be able to relate them with the associated work, I could show it all at once.

To do this I decided to try using video, I have little experience of making videos and even less being in front of the camera. Over the last few weeks, I have been teaching remotely so I have been doing quite a lot of work using Zoom and powerpoints so I started with those. Unfortunately, I found this a little stilted and formal and didn’t suit the vision I had for presenting my work. It was too work like and I was having problems in doing a voice-over. With such a small amount of time to prepare it all, it became obvious that this approach was not going to work. I started again using my phone’s video apps; I decided to use a different approach for each of the larger piece and the selection of smaller samples.

During the development of the ‘Cephalopod’ sample made as a final sample for new materials and the ‘Found’ sample made as part of my work with found objects I had worked in my sketchbook more than for some of the more process led pieces so used photography as a basis for the videos with a voice over. The ‘Gertrude and Mary Basket’ suited a more direct to camera approach to showcase it’s size, texture and 3D properties. For the selection of smaller samples, I again chose a direct to camera style with close up photographs to show the samples in the best way I could.

I was not comfortable at all in front of the camera but I am happy that I have made the videos as engaging and interesting as I can, I also think they do show my enthusiasm for my subject and are quite professional and well crafted for a novice.

I have struggled with expressing reflection and critical thinking in writing throughout my studies but have found that recording my thoughts does seem to help so this is something I will try again in the future, I can then write them up. It was particularly useful when it came to the reflective evaluation for my submission. I found that 6 minutes was far too short as a limit, I had to take out quite a lot of content to condense it down to fit the limit which was a shame as I would have liked to have covered some of the thoughts I am writing here in more depth.

Below are the videos etc. I submitted:
Selection of creative work

Cephalopod:

Found:

Gertrude & Mary Basket:

Selection of smaller samples:

Selection of Learning Log Posts

Learning outcome Creative Work Part Link

LO1 Select and evaluate a range of textile media and techniques to develop innovative solutions to set projects and self-generated projects

Project 1, Exercise 1.3, Working with traditional materials: Development into a final sample 1 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/01/22/exercise-1-3-working-with-traditional-materials-development-into-a-final-outcome/
Project 2, Exercise 1.5, Experimenting with new and future materials; Refining into a final sample 1 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/03/09/exercise-1-5-experimenting-with-new-and-future-materials-refining-into-a-final-sample/
Project 3, Exercise 2.2 – developing a resolved sample 2 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/05/07/exercise-2-2-developing-a-resolved-sample/

LO2 Demonstrate a critical awareness of environmental concerns, new materials and market forces and understand the diversity of textiles both in practice and in historical contexts

Research point 1.3 – Research practitioners utilising new materials 1 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/02/18/research-point-1-3-research-practitioners-utilising-new-materials/
Research point 1.2 – Research how two or three natural materials are manufactured and marketed. 1 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2018/10/23/research-point-1-2-research-how-two-or-three-natural-materials-are-manufactured-and-marketed/
Research point 4.1, Part 2 – Ways of working more sustainably provided by science 4 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/10/21/research-point-4-1-part-2-ways-of-working-more-sustainably-provided-by-science/
(Also uploaded as written element) Part 4, Exercise 4.1 – Ethical textiles, write a short illustrated profile of a textile company that addresses sustainable or ethical concerns 4 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/10/22/part-4-exercise-4-1-ethical-textiles-write-a-short-illustrated-profile-of-a-textile-company-that-addresses-sustainable-or-ethical-concerns/

LO3 Demonstrate increasing independence in the execution of your work and greater responsibility for your learning

Project 4, Exercise 2.3 – Sampling 2 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/06/02/project-4-exercise-2-3-sampling/
Research point 4.1; Part 1 – Textile artists or designers whose work relates to sustainable textile practices (extra courses taken independantly) 4 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/10/17/research-point-4-1textile-artists-or-designers-whose-work-relates-to-sustainable-textile-practices/
Part 5 Option 2, Project 3 Sustainable textiles; Sampling from the Old Chapel dyers garden (setting up the dyer’s garden) 5 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2020/01/24/sustainable-textiles-dyers-garden-at-the-old-chapel/

LO4 Construct a written argument informed by investigative research

Extended Essay – Ideas and proposal 3 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2018/12/27/extended-essay-ideas-and-proposal/
Essay research – Survey of textile practitioners and makers 3 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2019/08/27/essay-research-survey-of-textile-practitioners-and-makers/
Assignment 6; Review of the final stage of essay writing 6 https://textiles2ocacp.wordpress.com/2020/05/06/assignment-6-review-of-the-final-stage-of-essay-writing/

Reflective Evaluation

Author: Julie Hooker

Having recently returned to my roots in Surrey, I am currently studying a BA Hons degree with the OCA. My work is often inspired by the local countryside in the beautiful Surrey Hills area and the wild rugged nature of the North Cornish coast. Steam engines and abandoned industrial history are also recent themes. A free machine embroiderer and felt maker; I like to explore the use of natural, found materials to create my art, whether that be as raw materials to stitch or weave with or as a material with which to produce dye or print with. Previously, I completed City and Guilds parts 1 & 2 Creative Embroidery at the East Berkshire College in Windsor in 2007. I was also awarded first place in the wearable art section of the National Quilt Championships 2008 and 2009 held annually at Sandown Park.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started